• Compilation 14
  • Film & Theatre 9
  • Live 4
  • Studio 36
  • 2010's 7
  • 2000's 13
  • 1990's 13
  • 1980's 12
  • 1970's 17
  • 1960's 1
The Rocket Club

Become a Rocket Club member and exclusive news will make its way directly to your inbox. Be the first to know where Elton will perform next and get your hands on pre-sale tickets.

Thank you for joining the Rocket Club!

You will receive regular updates and all of the behind the scenes stories about Elton John.

Launch aborted, something went wrong

Please try again later or check that you are not already subscribed to our newsletter.
Elton John’s Greatest Hits Volume III (1979-1987)

Elton John’s Greatest Hits Volume III (1979-1987)

Elton's third greatest hits compilation, now out of print, culls primarily from his 1980s albums and spent 23 weeks on the Billboard Top 200.


  1. 1.I Guess That’s Why They Call It The Blues4:42
  2. 2.Mama Can’t Buy You Love4:02
  3. 3.Little Jeannie4:46
  4. 4.Sad Songs (Say So Much)4:07
  5. 5.I’m Still Standing3:03
  6. 6.Empty Garden (Hey Hey Johnny)5:05
  7. 7.Heartache All Over The World4:01
  8. 8.Too Low for Zero5:44
  9. 9.Kiss The Bride4:20
  10. 10.Blue Eyes3:27
  11. 11.Nikita4:54
  12. 12.Wrap Her Up6:04

Liner Notes

Music & Lyrics by ELTON JOHN, BERNIE TAUPIN, GARY OSBORNE, DAVEY JOHNSTONE, LEROY BELL, CASEY JAMES, CHARLIE MORGAN, PAUL WESTWOOD & FRED MANDEL Produced by CHRIS THOMAS, GUS DUDGEON, THOM BELL, ELTON JOHN & CLIVE FRANKS Orchestral Arrangements by JAMES NEWTON HOWARD & THOM BELL Brass Arrangements by JIM HORN & GUS DUDGEON Recorded at AIR Studios, Montserrat; CTS Studios, Wembley, UK; Sunset Sound Recorders, Los Angeles, CA, US; Super Bear Studios, Nice, FR; The Mill Studios, Cookham, UK; Wisseloord Studios, Hilversum, DE; Kay Smith Studio, Seattle, WA, US; Sigma Sound Studios, Philadelphia, PA, US