The Diving Board (Deluxe Edition)

The Diving Board Deluxe

Liner Notes


Produced by T BONE BURNETT

Background Vocal Arrangements by BILL MAXWELL

Horn Arrangements by DARRELL LEONARD

Recorded at The Village, Los Angeles, CA, US;

Live Tracks Recorded at Capitol Studios, Studio A, Los Angeles, CA, US

The Diving Board (Deluxe Edition)

Elton's second consecutive album with producer T Bone Burnett was in many ways inspired by Burnett's auspicious attendance at one of Elton's very first concerts in The Troubadour club in Los Angeles in August 1970. The Diving Board was written and recorded during two sets of sessions a year apart, in January 2012 and 2013, and uses many of the same musicians as had played on The Union...with the notable additions of bassist Raphael Saadiq, famed Motown percussionist Jack Ashford, and 2CELLOS. The first single, Home Again, was released on June 24.

Released: September 16, 2013

  1. Oceans Away
  2. Oscar Wilde Gets Out
  3. A Town Called Jubilee
  4. The Ballad Of Blind Tom
  5. Dream #1 [Instrumental]
  6. My Quicksand
  7. Can’t Stay Alone Tonight
  8. Voyeur
  9. Home Again
  10. Take This Dirty Water
  11. Dream #2 [Instrumental]
  12. The New Fever Waltz
  13. Mexican Vacation (Kids In The Candlelight)
  14. Dream #3 [Instrumental]
  15. The Diving Board
  16. Candlelit Bedroom [Bonus Track]
  17. Home Again [Live from Capitol Studios] [Bonus Track]
  18. Mexican Vacation (Kids In The Candlelight) [Live from Capitol Studios] [Bonus Track]
  19. The New Fever Waltz [Live from Capitol Studios] [Bonus Track]